Thoughts While Watching the Secret Life Ober Again

The Secret Life of the American Teenager (TV Series 2008–2013) Poster

1 /10

Not worth it

The whole plot line is nothing but sex. Sex sex sex. From all walks of life; whether it is the meek girl who was taken advantage of, the player, the wannabe-player, the bad girl, the girl who wants to save it till marriage, the boyfriend who wants to pressure her to give in...

Seriously, there does not seem to be at least one sentence where the characters are not talking about intercourse. ALL of the characters.

It's nothing but stereotypes, and really bad dialogue. And unrealistic in regards to what life as a teen really is like. If it is suppose to be a satire, or a spoof of some sort...doesn't seem to be doing a great job.

And for one thing, the adults themselves appear to be brainless. If a principle KNEW that a boy wanted to join the band just because he wanted to pick up girls....wouldn't it be refused overall? The kid even asked for a condom!

And I tire of the stereotypical portrayal of girls who do want to wait till marriage. Not all of them are girly, pushy, over religious and braggy about their chastity. But yet will eventually will always "give in" to their apparent urges.

And not all teenage boys are crazy horny 24/7 with bad intentions on their minds.

The whole sex theme and teen pregnancy is getting old - especially if it isn't done well and creatively.

It gives a whole general bad impression on American society, as if all teens are really like this.

79 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Unrealistic, stereotypical

As a teenager--15 years old, in fact, the same as the main character--I have to say this is an awful, unrealistic, cardboard-cutout teenage drama program. While I understand the thinly veiled message of abstinence, it is not brought forth in a intelligent or believable manner. If we're old enough to have sex, I think we're old not to be pandered and talked down to, which seems to be the primary aim of the show. Amy, the main character, is a shallow, boring, sour character. The show's attempts to make her seem remotely geeky or normal at all tend to fall flat, and in general the plot and character development of all of the characters is very poor indeed. The script comes off cheesy and overdone, the acting is terrible, and it's really just a show of stereotypes, not interesting, complex people. Not real people. The dramatic story lines are not half as entertaining as they would be with real people, in real situations, with realistic reactions.

208 out of 258 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Oh my goodness.

I am 15, going on 16 in a few weeks. Being around the same age bracket/grade as most of the characters in this show, I can honestly say it is really, really off. Even the most genuine characters are phony. There are plot holes all over the place, and most things are never explained. Remember Rumer Willis? Who, what, where, when, wtf? Amy's dynamic with everyone just sucks, especially with Ben. According to them, they were in love after like two minutes. (A side note, the world love is tossed around excessively on this show, along with sex, funeral, baby, etc.) If they are so madly in love, why do they seem to hate each other? Another thing that bugs me is how nonchalant the parents are about their young children having "serious' relationships. Just because you are a high schooler does not mean the only thing you think about is sex/omg I need a boyfriend! The whole show is going nowhere, but it has found its place in my TV schedule as comic relief. I'm in too deep now, but if I were you, I would avoid Secret Life at all costs.

152 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Without a doubt the worst thing on TV

I'm sorry, but how much money did ABC Family have to pay the New York Post to call the show "beautifully written" when it truly is anything but. Brenda Hampton has no sense of what a teenager really acts like, all she seems to go on is stereotypes from other shows/movies. Grace is the overachiever who wants to go to med school: of course she's pretty and blonde. Adrian is Hispanic/Latina, of course she's the school hussy, and of course she has a mother who is never around. Jack is on the football team, so of course he'd be dating Grace. Amy is such a waste of a character. No teen is that naive, unless they have some sort of metal disability, and no: I am not dogging on the mentally disabled. Ricky is actually the only character that I could possibly see as a real teen. Ashley's personality doesn't fit the girl playing her, at all. Is she monotone, or is that her voice for the character? She's a very pretty girl and I do hope she can shed this image of Ashley.

The only reason why ABC Family picked up this show is because all the ten year old girls are watching it. And can we be serious for a second? Why do you think this airs on ABC Family and not ABC or the CW? Everyone tries to pinpoint "Oh this is a family show, this is great for ABC Family!" Not really, if Secret Life had good writing, then maybe another network would have picked it up. Brenda Hampton sold the show to ABC Family because they're so desperate for ratings they'll pick up anything that they hope will make them money. Oh and another thing, the Network acts as if Secret Life is some record breaking hit for TV. It really isn't. The pilot averaged 1.2 million viewers. That's hardly anything to the big Networks like Fox or NBC. Hell, even The CW has better ratings! The reruns of Gilmore Girls get just as good ratings from my last comparison, and that is a show that's syndicated. As a future screenwriter for TV, it pains me to know this trash is airing...

Brenda Hampton really needs to just... stop.

72 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

4 /10

Slow Tiresome Addictive

Amy Juergens (Shailene Woodley) is a teen band geek who got pregnant in band camp. This is a high school soapy drama with a whole bunch of young actors. They're all good actors. The fact is a lot of the characters are whiny and gossipy. The older actors who played the parents include Steve Schirripa, Mark Derwin, Molly Ringwald, and Josie Bissett.

This is sometimes slow and tiresome. I don't think the actors are at fault. It's all in the writing. The characters talk a lot, and a lot until they start talking in circles. They keep going over the same issues again and again. Usually it's relationship issues with each other. For some reason, it's quite addictive bad TV.

5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

2 /10

Totally Insulting

Warning: Spoilers

I have been trying to like this show since it came out but I simply cannot do it. This show trys to depict how high school really is, and as a teenager, I find this show insulting. Yes, some teenagers have sex and get pregnate, but not every sentence is about who's doing who, when they do it, why their doing it, who wants to be doing it...come on. Every line in this show is about sex. And that is completely inaccurate.

The character of Amy is also unreasonable and irritating...she always seems on the verge of tears...why Ben loves her I don't know. Her mother is useless and is too wrapped up her own sex life. The only character I can stomach is Adrian because she is not as fake as everyone else and I especially can't stand Grace. The whole episode when she thought she killed her father because she had sex was so ridiculous I was laughing. I hope people don't think this is how teenagers really are.

13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

2 /10

Inaccurate and Ridiculous

Warning: Spoilers

This is an embarrassingly bad show that supposedly depicts the "secret life" of teenagers. It's attempting to capitalize on the subject from "Juno" only in a clumsy and completely un-entertaining way.

First of all, as a 26 year old woman, I can't relate my teens to any of these characters. Amy as the main character is the most unreasonable and unbelievable. Yes, teenagers have sex. And yes, some get pregnant. I'll even give in that a 15-16 year old might make many mistakes such as "pretending it's not happening" or continuing to date a guy even though she's starting to show.

However this Amy is not likable, has no personality, and is poorly developed as a character by the writers.

The episode that ended it for me was the 4th, where parents laughed over the young Christian girl defending herself against two men trying to abduct her, and she was the one punished for being out, rather than her parents being grateful that she was strong enough to defend against two predatory men. Only furthering the complete fallacy of what would REALLY happen in EVERY scenario this show presents. Not to mention, said girls parents making remarks against Amy and her pregnancy completely breaking doctor/patient confidentiality.

The show is gross. I can handle a show about teenagers having sex (because, lets be honest, many are) - but this is not only vanilla coated to try it's best to be "family friendly", making it all that much more inaccurate in every sense - dialogue, storyline, character development, etc.

Definitely one to skip.

81 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Wowee

The word is gob-smacked so many troubles in such a short time. I guess this is a really good young chick show, packed full of father hating nuance, pregnant teen-queens and arrogant know-it-all youths. I made the mistake of sitting through this show and felt really out-of-place. Why is it that the male parent is always a loser and the female parents walk on water? Not my cup of tea and I do not feel there are any impassioned queries that warrant my attention or a reply. I truly enjoyed the commercial breaks and think they did a wonderful job of breaking up the monotony of the show. Ah well...if I were a young girl I probably would be all giddy and my heart would be a fluttering over this show

71 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

One Note Symphony

If you remember 7th Heaven, you probably noticed how the Camdens always suffered the same maladies at the same time. Mom's addicted to coffee, dad is taking too many Advil, son is smoking pot, other son is taking no-doz ... etc. You felt like you were getting hit over the head with the message every week, but at least it was a different message each week. Secret Life runs over you with a steamroller. Then, they back up over you and do it again, and again, and again, and OH Dear yet again. Aside from the flat, stereotypical, unlikable characters (yes, they even made a kid with Downs Syndrome a sex-obsessed total jerk too), they drone on and on about the only thing that is on any of their narrow minds. For fun, I counted the number of times they use the word "sex". It was 17 times just in the scenes from previous shows. For the show itself, the total was around 40 - including references to oral and anal sex as well as a mother recommending masturbation to her daughter. Of course, one must suspend disbelief while watching a fictional program, but how much can you hold back the urge to scream BULLS**T when a teenage boy tells his girlfriend that he wants to "have sex" for the fourteenth time in one episode. No teenage boy EVER got what he wanted by whining "I wanna have sex", yet this clown is climbing off of her in the very next scene. People DO NOT live this way. Although my daughter will not miss this show, I can see how one with no life experience might overlook the bizarre departure from reality. What I can't understand is why she devotes an hour of each week to something so bereft of entertainment value.

5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

2 /10

The oversimplified and unrealistic life of an American Teenager

Warning: Spoilers

Wow. This show was pretty bad. I was hoping the show would dig deep and find true secrets and struggles teens go through, but it was just so bland, predictable, and unrealistic! First of all, that is not how teens talk! It felt very scripted the whole time and didn't reflect how teenagers truly interact. In the 1st episode when Amy's friends find out she is pregnant, the pauses in their conversation and reactions are not how people would react. once they find out, they kind of carry on as if the news wasn't a HUGE shock to them.

Secondly, Ben and Amy's relationship is so....just...things don't work like that. He claims he loves her and barely knows her and shes totally fine with it. I find that HIGHLY creepy and obsessive. When 15 year olds claim they "love" each other, they're just saying it because they think its the thing to do.

Lastly, I really hate how they never let you figure things out. The script just goes and and tells you what happened. It would've been much more interesting if you had to figure out and got subtle clues that Ricky was sexually abused as a kid, but in the 1st episode, they just go out and say it. Instead of thinking and being engaged with the show, you are just spoon fed interesting information.

The show is okay, just not something I would follow. Maybe id watch another episode if i was really bored on a rainy day with nothing else on.

50 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

7 /10

Where did they get this title?

Nobody on this show seems to be able to keep a secret. I guess they wouldn't dare call it "The Sex Life of the American Teenager," though that would make more sense. By the way, where is this town? I guess "Lisa Douglas" (Eva Gabor, on "Green Acres") would call it "Hootersville". It is a town where nobody has "bad hair," zits or braces, where every high school girl either wears a Wunderbra or doesn't need one and where all the boys are just as pretty as the girls. Since this is ABC Family's signature show, ABC Family may be soon known as the "Calvin Klein Network".

Two standouts (in more ways than one) are Francia Raisa and India Eisley. Raisa has to be the hottest female on TV. Eisley is the daughter of actress Olivia Hussey, who wowed and shocked audiences with her performance 40 years ago as a 14 year old topless Juliet in the 1968 best picture nominee. While her line readings seem almost robotic, she manages to steal every scene she's in.

In addition for being a pedophile's dream, "Secret Life ..." boasts some interesting twists. The "bad boy," Ricky, frequently makes more mature and sensible observations and decisions than any of the adults. George, the "father figure" is actually more of a kid than any of the teenagers. Steve Schirripa, who made such a memorable gangster in "The Sopranos" plays against type, and acts more mature and loving than most of the other adults. While the writing tends to solve too many problems too quickly, the show takes some very interesting turns. It's certainly worth a watch.

7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Absolutely ridiculous

Warning: Spoilers

I watched this show just because of a tiny little interest, and have been astounded on how ridiculous and nonrealistic it is.

Amy, the main character (a fifteen year old) is pregnant. In the wake of the popularity of "Juno", this show caught a wave because of its seclusive title and snapshot of its pregnant main character. The surrounding backstory with her family and friends includes the typical silly soap opera plots: everyone cheating/sleeping with each other, growing up, identities, blah blah blah. The Christian stereotype of the bouncy blonde cheerleader is especially reminiscent of "Saved!" characters.

I am most frustrated with Amy's character. She is clueless, foolish, and naive, with no distinct other personality traits. She accidentally slept with someone, oh no, here comes baby. She thinks it'll go away if she forgets about it (how can anyone be that stupid?). And when the poor sap Ben comes along, groveling at her feet, she seemingly has no interest, even when he rushes the "i love you's." He finds out she lied to him, is having some other dude's baby, and what does he do? Of course, he proposes to her! How romantic, and he even says he'll pretend the baby's his! This show unfailingly portrays teenagers as foolish and aimless, with half baked goals and impulsive decisions. Amy expects her mother to take care of her baby, doesn't think she needs to get a job, and thinks she'll live happily ever after with her non- baby daddy. Of course its that easy, just pop out a child, you're mother will take care of it, you don't need a job either! I am sad for the audience of this show, if young girls watch this and take it to heart, what kind of message are they taking away? It takes no steps to give any teenagers credit. All of the characters combined have an IQ of 40.

This show should not be as popular as it is. This is sad, America.

73 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

Prime-time to educate teenagers regarding sex and pregnancy.

Warning: Spoilers

We saw the initial episode tonight on ABCFamily. Considering the network and the time slot, we would expect it to be family-friendly.

Shailene Woodley, who really is 16, appears to be the lead character Amy who is 15 or 16 in the TV show. She is a good girl from a good family, she plays the French Horn in the school band, and in many ways is the model "geek" type of girl. Molly Ringwald of "Sixteen Candles" fame plays her mother.

As often happens with good girls, who also are naive, Amy gets charmed by a student whose goal is to have sex with as many girls as he can. It is all about "him", and in a therapy session we see that he is this way because his father mistreated him when he was younger. Ernie Hudson is good as the shrink, Dr. Fields.

The nice young man who is attracted to Amy is Kenny Baumann, 18, as Ben. He joins the band to play cymbals just to be closer to her.

The story line of the first episode has Amy falling victim to the boy who just wants to have sex, and she becomes pregnant. Previews of subsequent episodes show this clearly, and the run of the first season will evidently be to examine this issue of teen pregnancy further, as a cautionary message to teens.

25 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

6 /10

Extended After School Special on Sex and Pregnancy

I disagree with most of the reviewers on here...they are taking it way too seriously. This is not My So-Called Life or Freaks and Geeks, no, but it is an ABC Family show, so, it is what it is...the acting is average, the script is average and the characters are average. Yes, it seems like some long after school special on sex and "love" and pregnancy, and it appears as though they are trying to teach kids a lesson on pregnancy, sex and love, I think. Wish there were some other story lines. When I hear the words pregnancy and sex 1000's of times, it gets pretty boring, but I can't stop watching it. And, hey, I am 45 and even back in my day, this is not how teens lived, but then if they were to portray my high school days, it would have to be on HBO. I really don't think people are like this in real life, but maybe that was the intention; to be pretty bland so it fit in as a family show. But, for a family show, they do talk about masturbation a lot... ha, ha! And, the acting is like kids who took acting 101. I don't think any of them have gone on to do anything else. Also, one thing I noted...they had to represent every single person who exists in the world...black, Asian, gay, Down's Syndrome, atheist, Christian, etc. etc. I am surprised they did not have a midget. But, really, it is okay and a bit addictive, even though it is the same theme over and over and over. Okay for a teen to watch or an old gal like me. On Netflix watch it now, so I got desperate. P.S. Amy looks like she is 12. Kinda creepy.

3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

4 /10

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Warning: Spoilers

The Secret Life of The American Teenager is a good concept in theory. However, the final product is a bit half-baked.

The Good) Let's not kid ourselves: sex education in public schools (and in private homes) always has and still does take a back seat to more 'important' activities such as sports, honor society, being popular, and all kinds of other BS that has nothing to do with real life. Kudos to Secret Life for finally addressing the elephant in the room that nobody wants to acknowledge. Most kids learn about birth control on the Net or from friends, but rarely from parents or educators. While the show gives virtually no beneficial information about birth control, at least it slams the issue right in front of parents' eyes so they have the option of discussing it with their kids if they're brave enough to do so.

Acting-wise, Mark Derwin (George), Francia Raisa (Adrian), India Eisley (Ashley), Megan Park (Grace), Luke Zimmerman (Tom), and Amy Rider (Alice) all do an excellent job portraying multifaceted characters despite the limitations of the script. They have realistic emotions & give a zing to their dialog that the other cast members lack.

The Bad) Realism, where art thou??? -- Not on the set on 'Secret Life', that's for sure. I would not send *my* kids to "Ulysses S. Grant High School" because, apparently, anybody who wants to can just stroll onto the grounds and enter the school at will. In fact, they can even take up residence in an official school office and nobody seems to notice. It's a good thing that Eric Harris & Dylan Klebold didn't go here... The school counselor would've been fired, if not tarred and feathered, a million years ago if he even said one quarter of the highly unprofessional things we are to believe he got away with. Speaking of which, kids don't converse in real life the way they do on the show, nor do they react to situations the way the show portrays. It's so absurd that it's a complete farce. Listening to the dialog, I am reminded of *every* training video from every job ever where the actors react in a completely silly way.

Everyone is sleeping around with everyone else and nobody has gotten an STD? Yeah, that's realistic! And this point, in particular, really demonstrates the half-assed way the show is put together. On one hand, the show wants to be socially responsible, while on the other hand, the show leaves out all kinds of relevant issues. The show is an accurate portrayal of most American families: complete lack of respect for each others' boundaries, little if any emotional intimacy, isolated kids and non-communicative parents. But so what? "Square Pegs" and "My So-Called Life" pioneered this technique back in the 80's and it's nothing new. If series creator Brenda Hampton wants this to truly be a family show that is a vehicle for positive social change, she should write more episodes where the family tries to heal itself rather than just maintain the status quo.

The Ugly) Throwing around all the just-add-water "I Love You's" between Ben and Amy is disturbing to say the least. But even more disturbing is the tacit approval of this behavior from all the parents. Earth calling Brenda: these are 15-year-olds; they don't know what "love" is and any remotely competent parent would certainly not endorse this by taking it seriously. Also, nobody ever gets punished for *anything*. The kids run around doing all manner of outrageous things and all they get is a slap on the wrist. Using fake ID's to get married? Call me crazy but I suspect that most parents with an IQ higher than that of a dyslexic trout would come down on their kids like Eliot Ness on Al Capone.

Also many of the characters are flat, contradictory, or absurd. For example, the characters Amy Juergens, Ben Boykewich, Jack Pappas, Kathleen Bowman, Madison & Lauren, Henry Miller, and several others have no depth whatsoever. After watching the first season, I was tempted to make a call to Disneyland and tell them some of their Animatronic's escaped from Pirates of the Caribean. I don't blame the cast for this; they try their best to do a good job with the hollow, wooden roles they've been handed. No, the fault here lies with the crappy writing.

The characters Ricky and Amy, arguably the main stars of the show, have less personality than Scooby Doo. Enough said.

Some other characters that, to use the youth's vernacular, "suck the big one": are Anne Juergens and Leo Boykewich. Molly Ringwald is a very accomplished and talented actress whose ability is being wasted in this role. Her character is weak, puny, and flighty. Her portrayal of Claire Standish in "The Breakfast Club" was much stronger and she was only 18 at the time! Once again, the blame lies with Brenda "Quaaludes" Hampton for crappy writing. Likewise, Steve Schirripa is a extremely talented actor who is being wasted here as little more than a caveman in a tux. If I was his agent, I would catch up with Ms. Hampton in the parking lot and kick her in the box.

The Secret Life of The American Teenager has a lot of potential and could be a excellent vehicle for family discussion and growth. However, in its current incarnation it is little more than a flaccid, predictable teen drama with all the excitement of C-Span.

7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

horrible bullshit

Warning: Spoilers

I think this show is disgusting. Instead of actually educating teens about sexuality, it makes sex a dirty thing, and further represses healthy sexual growth. In the second episode, when the counsellor tells Ben that whatever a woman does before she meets you is none of your business i was actually positively surprised. But then he follows with saying that thankfully she probably feels ashamed and guilty (about having done "anything" with Ricky)-making it okay. So let's make teens feel guilty about sex! How ridiculous is that? Also, i hate the fact that the two sexually active people (Ricky and Adrien) are portrayed as "broken" sociopathic individuals. This is not a healthy example for young people, i think it is much more relevant to make sexuality a matter open for discussion, about enjoyment, love, and safety. Not something to be ashamed about.

32 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

The stupidest series ever!

As per my impression, they'd better make a movie - kind of the summary of what all happened in the 1st season. It would be a great movie that shows all the hard and serious problems of having teenage sex and raise a baby in a high school with its consequences. The rest 3 seasons it's like a nightmare. The relationships between the characters are like a big mess. "I love you, no I don't. We get married, no we don't." It's a high school! Are you serious?! My summary is - it's the stupidest series ever! I wasted my time watching 2,3,4 seasons. And surely I won't watch it if they make this story longer. The family and relationship is a very serious thing. In this series it was showed like a distorted parody. They live in a condo without parents, they are engaged, the next moment they change their mind. The value of relationships, marriage and family completely distorted and diminished in this series! I was shocked when I heard this girls call themselves the adult women. No they are not adult women, they are just immature school girls and boys, just kids who go to school! It showed like a normal behavior and normal situations. But it's not normal for sure. It must be showed like a scenario "what NOT to do and how NOT to behave".

3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Cancel it!!!

Okay, so my SISTER was watching this show, and since I didn't feel like leaving the room I was looking at it too. One word... BOO. This show makes it seem that every teenage girl in America is having sex and making babies. Then all the same people are having sex and getting pregnant with each other(I think, I only saw one episode). I don't understand why this show is called secret life of an American teenager, because I don't know any group of people at my school who has that much drama at 15, and I'm a teenager! The reason this show is still airing is probably because it's on ABC. If this show was on Fox or any other real network this show would have been canceled. I mean If you do like shows with boring people, bad dialogue, and the same dumb problems, this show is for you. But if you actually have an IQ over 5, pick up the remote.

3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Don't be fooled it's not a "Family" show..

This show is ridiculously bad! I tried watching the first season and although I couldn't stand it I kept watching. Everyone was talking about it and I thought there has to be SOMETHING good about this show. I was wrong. Every other word out of someones mouth was sex, sex, sex. Im sorry but not every single person walks around school discussing their sex life and I don't know ANY teenager that is willing to discuss it with their parents that openly. I get uncomfortable just having my own mother in the room while watching! The character of Amy was such a brat throughout the show I just wanted to slap her. All of the characters were so phony and I couldn't watch without rolling my eyes a few times. I tried tuning in for the new season and after 5 minutes I was done. I would never even attempt to watch this show again. The acting is just as bad as the show and I think everyone would be much happier having Pretty Little Liars switched to Mondays instead.

3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

4 /10

Sigh!!!

No show has ever made me so mad and annoyed honestly I hated that I wasted my time

4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

8 /10

I loved this show

I was excited to see this show initially because of Molly Ringwald, and looked forward to the premiere for several weeks. I was not one bit disappointed. Finally, another good 7th Heaven type show that deals with serious issues in a family friendly way. The young actors are all very good and believable, and although it is a little bit cheesy, I would prefer this show to Hannah Montana anyday. After the first episode when they showed the teaser for the upcoming season I was so excited to see more and wished I could buy the whole season right then! I can't wait to see what this show has in store and plan on recommending it to everyone!

62 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

2 /10

Dowright awful

Warning: Spoilers

As I said it's downright awful. The acting is awful and the story is so unbelievable. Ben says he loves Amy in the second episode! And then he wants to marry her by the fifth? They are 15! The acting is just appalling. I'm sure there are so many other talented young actresses out there who can show a little bit more emotion than just staring intently with a sour face. The girl who plays Ashley has one look, blank, and when she changes her mood all that happens is her voice gets louder. Amy another lifeless character, all see does it fiddle with her hair and then start crying and go on about how she can't have the baby.

I gave it one extra star just because the underlying storyline ie teenage girl getting pregnant and dealing with it is a good idea, but they could have worked a little harder with getting better actors and a making a better story.

13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

3 /10

Horrible writing, horrible acting...simply terrible

Warning: Spoilers

I can't believe that I thought this show would be good when I started watching it. From the very beginning the script has been cliché to the point of being sickening, the acting has been mediocre, and the characters have been shallow and unlikeable.

The main problem I have with this show is its characters, especially the adults. Their immaturity, especially that of Amy and Ashley's mother, is unnerving. She is lazy, whines and complains, and does not want to do anything to help her children. One of the dumbest dialogues on the show has taken place between her and her boyfriend David. He calls her, says, "We need to talk." She asks, "Can it wait till tomorrow?" He says, "Not really. Are you pregnant?" She says, "Are you drunk?" He says, "I asked you first." That's only one out of dozens of examples of how terrible the script is. Their dad is even worse; he virtually abandons his family, then expects to be welcomed back with open arms. He also tells Amy off for trying to escape her duties as both mother and daughter and go out with Ben for the night, even though he hasn't been present in their household for months. However, he does hit an important point: Amy's immature. So, why, why, why did she keep her child? She doesn't want him! She says she loves him, then she complains about him! I think the worst message this show could have possibly sent is that for a 15-16 year old girl to keep her baby is a good idea. Yet some of the characters are adamant that Amy take care of her own child. Even her own parents encourage her to do it if she wants. What a terrible message to send.

Most of these characters are not even stereotypes, because there is NO ONE like them. If there are people out there like them, they are quite unique.

Another problem I have with this series is the unintelligent way it tries to show that teenagers aren't ignorant about the rest of the world. When Ricky is talking to someone about finding his own place to live, they say, "Well, with the real estate market being what it is..." When the news arrives of Grace (the most annoying, most idiotic character of all)'s father's death, Adrian says, "Not another terrorist attack!" before she finds out exactly what the news is. Brenda Hampton, the creator, producer, and writer, gives no indication in any of the episodes that she knows what life is really like for American teenagers. She doesn't know what she is talking about. I've seen plenty of dumb shows, but this has got to be the worst.

7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

2 /10

So unrealistic

Warning: Spoilers

Those who like it seem as if they've never truly experienced high school, or are too far out of it (high school). No teenagers I've met talk about sex that much, nor are they this stupid. I am sure that teenagers do not think about marriage, and their immediate reaction to pregnancy would probably be abortion. The only seemingly reasonable adult is Amy's mom, but then again, I haven't seen all of the episodes. But overall, my least favorite character is the school counselor. He's too unrealistic and stupid. No school would give a student a schedule change in order to chase after a girl, and he never discourages sex, he just goes along and pretends to be friends with the students. He doesn't really seem like an authority figure. All the characters either lack personality or extreme stereotypes, and badly acted ones at that. It's a terrible show, and I don't think anyone should watch it

25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

1 /10

Filth

This show is pure filth. It belongs on the Playboy Channel instead of the Family Channel. I will sum up this show succinctly: 1. Teenagers thinking about having sex. 2. Teenagers having sex. 3. Teenagers talking about having had sex. 4. Teenagers taking care of their illegitimate children. On one show, a teenage girl's father pays her a visit (she lives with her mother and the father does not live in the house). While the father is in the house, a teenage boy comes to visit. The teenage girl tells her father they are going to go to her room and shut the door. The girl then proceeds to try to seduce the boy. The boy says "I am not going to have sex with you with your father right outside the door". The boy leaves, and as he is leaving the father asks him "Aren't you going to have sex with my daughter"? It is no surprise that this father does not live in the house with his daughter since as far as I could see there was not one set of complete parents. At one time there was a parental unit, but the writers soon put an end to that by killing off the father in a plane crash. Of course the writers made his death more palatable by having his daughter lose her virginity at the moment he dies in a fiery plane crash. Then to top off the show, after 55 minutes of fornication of all possible sort, the entire cast shows up at the end and says "Please do not have premarital sex". If I had not seen this show with my own eyes, I would not believe it would be possible for this filth to be broadcast. That is an hour of my life I will never get back.

35 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

bernerances1955.blogspot.com

Source: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1179817/reviews

0 Response to "Thoughts While Watching the Secret Life Ober Again"

إرسال تعليق

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Iklan Bawah Artikel